The Online Education Policy Initiative is composed of a core working group of faculty and researchers, led by Co-Principal Investigators (Co-PIs) Karen Willcox and Sanjay Sarma and advised by an external advisory board of experts from academia, nonprofits, and policy positions.

Online Education Policy Initiative Members

  • Sanjay Sarma, Fred Fort Flowers ’41 & Daniel Fort Flowers ’41 Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Director of Digital Learning (Co-PI)
  • Joseph Seering, Researcher in Education, Aeronautics and Astronautics
  • Claudia Urrea, Researcher in Education and Technology, Office of Digital Learning
  • Karen Willcox, Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics (Co-PI)

Internal Working Group, MIT’s Washington DC Members

  • William B. Bonvillian, Director
  • Philip Lippel, Assistant Director

Internal Working Group Members

  • David Autor, Professor and Associate Department Head of Economics
  • Lori Breslow, Director of the Teaching & Learning Laboratory
  • John Gabrieli, Grover Hermann Professor of Health Sciences and Technology and Cognitive Neuroscience
  • Eric Klopfer, Professor and Director at the MIT Scheller Teacher Education Program
  • Thomas Kochan, George Maverick Bunker Professor of Management, Professor of Work and Employment Research and Engineering Systems
  • Vijay M. S. Kumar, Associate Dean and Senior Strategic Advisor for Digital Learning and Director of the Office of Educational Innovation and Technology
  • Sanjoy Mahajan, Visiting Associate Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at MIT, and Associate Professor of Applied Science and Engineering at Olin College of Engineering
  • Hazel Sive, Professor of Biology

External Advisory Committee

  • Eric Bettinger, Stanford University, Associate Professor of Education and Economics, Stanford Graduate School of Business
  • Norman Bier, Carnegie Mellon University, Director of the Open Learning Initiative, former Director of Training and Development at iCarnegie Inc.
  • Dan Butin, Merrimack College, Associate Professor and Founding Dean of the School of Education and Social Policy, former Chief Financial Officer of Teach for America
  • Michelene (Micki) T.H. Chi,  Arizona State University, Professor in Division of Educational Leadership and Innovation, Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College, and Director of Learning Sciences Institute
  • S. James Gates Jr., University of Maryland, Distinguished University Professor; University System of Maryland Regents Professor, John S. Toll Professor of Physics, Member of PCAST and the Maryland State Board of Education
  • Andrew Ho, Harvard University, Co-Chair of HarvardX Research Committee and Professor of Education, Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Marsha Lovett, Carnegie Mellon University, Teaching Professor of Psychology and Director of Eberly Center for Teaching Excellence and Educational Innovation
  • Andrea Nixon, Carleton College, Director of Educational Research 
  • Bror Saxberg, Kaplan, Inc., Chief Learning Officer, former Senior Vice President and Chief Learning Officer at K12, Inc., former Vice President at Knowledge Universe
  • Marshall (Mike) Smith, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, Visiting Scholar, former Senior Counselor to the Secretary at US Department of Education, former Director of Education Programs at the Hewlett Foundation, former Under-Secretary and Acting Deputy Secretary at US Department of Education, former Dean of Stanford University School of Education
  • Barbara Treacy, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Instructor,Technology, Innovation and Education Program,  Digital Learning and Education Consultant, Chair, Digital Learning Advisory Council, Massachusetts Department of Education